Kingsway & High Holborn

As I walked out of Sainsbury’s, a baguette under one arm and a box of cupcakes from Neal’s Yard in the opposite hand, I saw my bus, mostly empty, resting at a red light half a block down from the stop.  If you know the 188 to North Greenwich, you would understand what a treat this particular situation was.  The 188 hardly comes on time, if it comes at all, and is often so crowded that one would have to let it go and wait for the next one.  To capitalise on this unique opportunity, I set off at a light jog, half skipping, half walking, crossing the street, passing the Holborn tube station, to beat this notorious coach to the bus stop.

Closing in on the stop, the bus still at a rest down the road, I slowed down.  It was then that I heard a man say something, not exactly sure if he was addressing me.  I looked over his way and he looked back, repeating what I missed, “Very charming.  It was very charming to see you and just to walk behind you.  Now, of course, I see it’s even more so to walk beside you.”  

Taken aback and utterly at a loss for words, but flattered nonetheless, I replied, “Thank you.”  I might have smiled a little, I don’t quite remember.  The 188 pulls up.  I pointed to it and told him, “This is my bus!”  
He then said, “Why don’t you catch the next one and grab a cup of coffee with me?”  
I held up the bread and the box as I walked up to the bus and called out “I have a birthday to prepare for, but thank you!”  He laughed and waved goodbye.

It wasn’t a lie – I really was going home to cook for Sokky and Jenny’s birthday.  But I did have three hours before I had to start.  As I settled in on my seat, I thought, Why didn’t I just catch the next bus?  How often do I hear people, after reading an Austen novel or seeing a remake of a Shakespearean play, lament about how men don’t talk with such grace anymore?  And this stranger, rather attractive though maybe about 10-15 years my senior, was so fluent in the language of compliments at chance meetings.  

So here it is, dear sir, a proper thank you for your graceful efforts to an undeserving recipient.  You’ve made this day sweeter.


3 responses to “Kingsway & High Holborn

  • birthday boy

    oh my. i cant believe the lines some guys come up with. haha

    seriously though, thanks for coming back instead of chilling with the weird old dude. i mean, romantic stranger. salamat.

  • danlu

    i would’ve never thought to say ‘it charming to see you and walk behind you…’

    where do people learn wit anyways?

  • Erin

    I know the 188 to North Greenwich! It is NEVER on time!! Miss you!

Leave a comment